top of page

Vol 23: More Than Graphic Novels


Welcome back to Femme The Comics! Sorry I've been away once again unannounced, but I am back and have some new things I want to share with you! Part of the reason I was away, was due to a bit of writers block. From the few comics I had read, I was stuck on what to write about that I hadn't already discussed. I have no problem revisiting a prior topic but time and growth would have to past before doing so and also my main priority is to bring new topics and new material to the forefront, and finally it has come. In my many visits to my local bookstores (some not local....) I was able to find many new and exciting pick ups to add to me ever growing bookshelf. These two particular books left quite the heavy imprint on me and I needed to share it with you all. 'After The Rain' and 'Parable of the Sower' are graphic novel adaptations that tell a unique and remarkable story that takes you on a journey like never before.


'After The Rain' by Nnedi Okorafor follows a Nigerian-American woman named Chioma, who goes and visits her grandmother in Nigeria, but while on her visit, she has an encounter with ancestral spirits during a rain storm, which reveals much of her unknown destiny and brings to light dark secrets that changes her life. 'Parable of the Sower' by Octavia E. Butler takes place in the year of 2024 on our planet Earth that is hit with disaster after disaster. 15-year old Lauren Olamina lives in a protected community, with her father who is a Baptist preacher, that keeps her away from all the bad going on everywhere else. She is against her fathers preaching and has developed her how religion of Earthseed and is on a mission to spread it to the population who is suffering. Both novels have the gift of anticipation at every turn of each page as you follow both young ladies on their own journey and you wouldn't want to put the book down, I know I didn't.


As I mentioned, these two books left a mark on me and I couldn't be any happier that I bought them. Having such novels being adapted into graphic novels add the element of vision that I always enjoy reading with my comic books because its one thing to only have your own independent vision in your mind, but to see the actual words translated into the visual drawing adds to the experience of reading along. So make sure, if you can, check out these novels because I promise you wont regret it.


That's it for this week! I will see you guys next time, I am going to go film a video for my YouTube channel, Megan's View, on the many other books I bought, so you should also come check it out too!!

Comments


6F8E7934-938D-423F-AF05-766A977C92B1_1_2

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

"You counter despair with hope. You strive forever for the best you are capable to be! Therein lies the victory!"

- Storm

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page