top of page

Vol 1: The Introduction

Welcome to the blog for nerds by nerds! I'm kidding, but seriously WELCOME!


market of clay pots

Hello to you all! My name is Megan Uzomba, and this is my blog, Femme Thee Comics. I am a college senior who loves all things media and all things comic related. This blog is going to relate to the comic book world and industry but primarily focusing on the women characters presence and their history in comics, movies, media, etc.


I have not always been the person who loves all things comics, I was no stranger to it but my deep love for it hadn't arrived just yet. I didn't grow up waiting for new releases of issues that were coming out or hyped about the highly anticipated movie that was hitting theaters, I came in late to this game, like sophomore year of college. After attending a special lecture presentation for my women studies class, about the history of women in comics, was when my entry into this world began. The presentation discussed how female characters are not the same as their male counterparts, how their history seems to always stem from men and not from other women, which creates no female legacy. Also, how their origins are always confusing and get lost throughout time. I’ve always wanted to explore this world, but it wasn’t till after this presentation that I truly explored this realm. I started buy various books, watching movies, and also doing my own research on not only the female characters, but comic companies, such as Marvel, DC, Image, Variant, etc. and the authors and creators they hire. I wanted the expand on my knowledge to the deepest extent.


It’s been three good years since I entered into this game and I have many more to come, but as I go along and with the knowledge I have now, I am excited to share and to discuss on this topic with themed prompt post.


Once again, welcome.





Comments


6F8E7934-938D-423F-AF05-766A977C92B1_1_2

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

"You counter despair with hope. You strive forever for the best you are capable to be! Therein lies the victory!"

- Storm

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page